Swarms of Seahorses

Would you like a swarm of seahorses?  Voila!  These juvenile lined seahorse and dwarf seahorse beauties – Hippocampus erectus and Hippocampus zosterae – were popping up in seine nets by the dozens.  So were at least two species of pipefish, juvenile permit, seagrass blennies, bay anchovy, juvenile needlefish, juvenile redfish, comb jellies and a wide array of macroalgae. 

The orange coloration on the one juvenile H. erectus was truly surprising.  I promise you that animal came straight out of the IRL.  Before now, I’ve never seen one so strongly colored in the typically dark lagoon.  I almost wonder if he’ll make it much past his juvenile-hood. 

4 Comments to “Swarms of Seahorses”

  1. I’ve see orange and yellow color morphs before in the Gulf of Mexico. Always assumed they were “trying” very hard to look like sponges. There is a species from Brazil that gets a ruddy color.

  2. I was wondering where you found all the seahorses? In Indian River Lagoon? I look for seahorses all the time and never see any. I have seahorses at home and have bred them for a few years now. Reidi species….. Love your site! Also I got a bulletin from you on myspace(where I found abt this site) abt the marine nerd email…where can i sign up or that?

    Thanks

  3. The brazilian species that sometimes morphs towards reds is probably the H. reidi that Stacy mentions. 🙂 I think the sponge theory is very probable. I forgot about the yellow mass sponges that line deeper water in the lagoon.

    Stacy – these were from a site along the Banana River, which is part of the Indian River Lagoon system (of course). I dont often see soooo many H. erectus juveniles, I usually find more H. zosterae, but that’s probably an artifact on my sampling areas which are fairly shallow shoal grass beds.

    >Sarah

  4. Thanks Sarah, also did you read the part about the bulletin?? from above comment:

    Also I got a bulletin from you on myspace(where I found abt this site) abt the marine nerd email…where can i sign up or that?