Heron Nests in November

wikimedia

This morning a gorgeous great blue heron flew just over head with a gigantic branch in its beak.  At first, this sight just didn’t register with any logic I had stored in my naturalist brain.  And then I remembered, in Florida, winter is nesting season for many birds. 

Florida has two major seasons: wet and dry.  Wintertime for the bulk of the United States is dry season in the sunshine state.  Less rain means lower waterlines in many of the river systems, ponds, lakes, and streams in the area.  And lower water means concentrated fish stocks.  So when is the best time to be a fish eating heron or stork in Florida?  Right now. 

Year after year a pair takes up residence in tall pines near us and makes use of the same nest each season.  I’m not sure if its the exact same female and male, or if they add significantly to their home with every nesting season, but it is fantastic to watch the ceremonial exchange and presentation of nesting material between partners.  I can’t wait to start the watch for hatchling herons. 

One Comment to “Heron Nests in November”

  1. I just posted on that myself, about the wet and dry season. November has been dry. Fay gave us a wet August, but September and October were dry, especially September which is still a core wet season month.