What Is This Solid Shampoo You Speak Of?

Hard Water Solid Shampoo (c) LUSH.com

Last month I was so successful in stamping out a serious addiction to soda that I’m feeling encouraged to take on new challenges. For April, I want to continue to reduce my use of plastic by taking a hard look at all of my bath products. Its no secret that we women love our products. Its apparent in every American bathroom where copious storage exists for all our various paraphenalia and yet space always runs at a premium.

Shampoo, conditioner, body wash, razors, makeup, face wash, face brushes, body lotion, toothpaste, mouthwash, Sonicare toothbrush. Without exception its all either made of plastic or is packaged in plastic. I was even dismayed to discover the other day that a new box of dental floss was no longer the thread I expected but plastic film instead. Horrifying!

Now I’m not about to give up good hygiene (especially dental hygiene) but I am all for choosing products that make the softest impact. And while I would love to say goodbye to the disposable razor conundrum, I’m not brave enough to attempt a straight razor like my friend RJ from the Zoo.

However, I have discovered an ingenius idea. Solid soap – instead of body wash – can be had from many shops without plastic packaging plus its not as heavy as water for transport. Basin and Lush both offer up freshly sliced bars and I was intrigued when I discovered the idea of solid shampoo. Its taken a few days to adjust to the idea but the bar of solid shampoo I bought is working beautifully. (And trust me, I have a lot of hair!) As always, if you’re interested in reducing your plastic contribution to the rubbish heap (and possibly to the North Pacific Gyre, aka the Garbage Patch) visit Fake Plastic Fish.

2 Comments to “What Is This Solid Shampoo You Speak Of?”

  1. I had a slurpee today. But otherwise I never drink soda, … and you’re right: besides the sugar, its a source of pollution. I only drink from the tap.

  2. Oh I love Slurpees. I think that a little of anything is okay, but when its an extreme (like my previous diet soda obsession) then it just isnt healthy for you or the environment. I’m in a current kick of getting out plastic wherever possible, as a personal challenge.