TOPP Widgets, Approved by Six Year Olds

I’ve been following the Tagging of Pacific Predators project for months. The project’s scope continues to expand and their species pages list many ambitious “coming soon” tags for all manner of mammals, reptile, and fishy predators that lurk in the brine. Imagine my surprise then when it was Sea Notes that brought TOPP’s new widgets to my attention! I’m always interested to see information brought to an accessible level with graphics and these widgets do the trick. Definitely something to use with the younger set as a hook for a larger discussion on tagging and research for some of the ocean’s biggest habitats and players.

In fact, when I ran my own test group with a six-year-old, the reaction was: “Cool! Does he have a name?” And of course, they do!

