Addicted To Plastic (And Documentaries)

I have become hopelessly addicted to documentary films over the last three months; particularly those I can find streaming online via NetFlix, Hulu, and SnagFilms. Some of my current favorites include Food, Inc., The Cove, 10 Questions for the Dalai Lama, The Botany of Desire, Supersize Me, Bowling for Columbine, and at least a dozen others I’ve been gobbling up with my eyes.

Considering my personal concerns over marine debris and plastic pollution in our oceans, you’d think I’d have heard about Addicted to Plastic before now, but I was lucky enough to run across it streaming on an international website just last night thanks to a post via Facebook by the Plastic Pollution Coalition.

If you, like me, haven’t yet seen the film promise me you’ll find an hour and a half out of your evening or weekend to watch it. There are so many eye-opening bits that help enhance our understanding of the scope and size of the problem, the concerns about contamination of plastics with toxic compounds, and winds down with an inspiring exploration of bioplastics and the potential for an improved future where we aren’t living in some Stone Age dystopia having sworn off all plastic materials but instead have innovated and safeguarded ourselves by using new renewable materials.

2 Comments to “Addicted To Plastic (And Documentaries)”

  1. I’m also a documentary junkie, and I haven’t heard of Addicted to Plastic. I’ll have to check it out! I’ve also been wanting to see No Impact Man, have you seen it? I hear it’s now instant streaming on Netflix…

  2. Oh I knew there was a title I was missing in my list! Yes, No Impact Man is streaming. Did watch it, and it’s.. well.. just okay. I had mixed feelings about his project from the beginning though. It is really interesting to see them actually live all the things he discussed in his blog updates. I’m just not sure what the project teaches us in the long term.