Cuban Tree Frogs Are Voracious, Really

The invasive Cuban tree frog comes up every so often here at WaterNotes not because they are true denizens of the marine spaces I love, but instead have drawn my ire because they are everywhere!  I gained some notoriety this past summer when I announced to a crowd of wildlife lovers that we would not be saving any tadpoles from a rapidly evaporating puddle because every single last wriggler – literally several hundred if not a thousand – were Cubans!

I was branded a shade of “heartless” but I simply cannot in good conscience encourage the further advancement of a species that can eat anything small enough to fit down its gullet while secreting a toxic mucus that allows it to avoid predation by nearly all native Florida wildlife.

Every so often I fall into a conversation about the Cubans and the person I’m chatting with will ask: “Well, you say they’re voracious, just what sort of things will they try to eat?”

From now on I shall simply refer all such questioners to this great photo taken by James Snyder and successfully submitted to National Geographic‘s Your Shot.  Yes, he really is eating a Christmas light strung outside the family home.

[Hat tip to S. Middleton for the link.]

