Sea Lions? Nope. Real Lions!

Dear Boss-Lady:

I must work from home today.  The National Zoo’s lionesses both have cubs and I have been caught in the tractor beam of their adorableness.  I cannot avert my eyes from the streaming Cub Cam nor tear myself away from the videos and photos.   I am powerless against their charms and shall see you instead bright and early on Friday morning.

Sincerely,

Sarah

PS:  The National Zoo’s open and transparent nature regarding the cubs is nothing short of admirable. Large carnivores tend to have high mortality rates as infants (both in the wild and in zoos) and lions are no exception.  The Zoo lost a single male cub, born to the most recent litter’s mother Naba, back in May of this year.  I wish their keepers the best of luck in helping their new mothers rear their first successful offspring.

