Surf Fishing Blue Heron

Well, you can tell I took this shot on the fly. Sorry for the quality, but that’s a great blue heron surf fishing on the Canaveral National Seashore.  I’ve never seen them attempt this before and was quite surprised to see him stalking – and successfully grabbing – fish from the tiny shoals chasing the waves up and down the sand.

Another phenomenon I’ve never seen before – massed meetings of coquina of all sizes in little pockets separated by miles.  Each group was easily three hundred or more visible clams, with their little feet poking out of their shells and piled on top of each other in direct contact.  What on Earth were they up to?  I imagine they were spawning, but I’m still not quite sure what I was witnessing from these tiny beautifully-varied little clams.

